Xtreme PC Central Tech Forums  

Go Back   Xtreme PC Central Tech Forums > XPC Portal > Polls

Polls This is the polls for the front page of the site, registered users may post a poll and it will be submitted for review on the main page. New posts/polls require administration approval.

Poll: Which Anti-Virus program do you use?
Poll Options
Which Anti-Virus program do you use?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2004, 7:06 AM   #1
Azn_Tweaker
Member
 
Azn_Tweaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)
Exclamation Which AV Program Do u Have?

NOD32
Norton
Mcafee
Panda
kaspersky
AVG
Avast
Other
Azn_Tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:33 PM   #2
Azn_Tweaker
Member
 
Azn_Tweaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)
Cool, i see alot of AVG users on this forum..
im an NOD32 user myself.

NOD32 ALL THE WAY
Azn_Tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:38 PM   #3
mickwish
Mod crunching for cures
 
mickwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia GMT +10
Posts: 6,633
iTrader: (0)

mickwish's System Info

I run Norton 2002 on the few PC's that get used the most, and the free AVG on the rest.

They use VirusShield here at work - it's a real pain! Does the job, but gets in the way of everything else.

Cheers
Mick
__________________
Cheers
Mick
mickwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:47 PM   #4
Azn_Tweaker
Member
 
Azn_Tweaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)
Mick, VirusShield? i never heard of that.
Azn_Tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:50 PM   #5
Justoverbroke
Registered User
 
Justoverbroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,107
iTrader: (0)
eTrust EZ armor antivirus & firewall
avast and
AVG
And no not all on the same box.
Justoverbroke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:56 PM   #6
mickwish
Mod crunching for cures
 
mickwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia GMT +10
Posts: 6,633
iTrader: (0)

mickwish's System Info

Part of McAffee's VirusScan range. Horrible.

Cheers
Mick
__________________
Cheers
Mick
mickwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 10:58 PM   #7
Azn_Tweaker
Member
 
Azn_Tweaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by mickwish
Part of McAffee's VirusScan range. Horrible.

Cheers
Mick
LOL.. i suggest AVG for an Free but if u want to use money then i suggest NOD32. u wont reggret it.
Azn_Tweaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 11:01 PM   #8
mickwish
Mod crunching for cures
 
mickwish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: BrisVegas, Australia GMT +10
Posts: 6,633
iTrader: (0)

mickwish's System Info

Suggest it our our IT boffins here at work. I wouldn't knowingly install this McAfee stuff on ANY of my PC's :p

Cheers
Mick
__________________
Cheers
Mick
mickwish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 5:16 PM   #9
Bob.C
Xtreme Admin
 
Bob.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Leafy Surrey, UK. (GMT) ( Greenwich Monsoon Time )
Posts: 7,413
iTrader: (0)

Bob.C's System Info

I was a Norton User for years, till one of the nasties managed to disable it!

I'm running AVG these days!



Bob
__________________
iPad. 64Gb WiFi and 3G enabled. Wow!
Bob.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 7:06 PM   #10
davidw
Xtreme-ly tired
 
davidw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 9,060
iTrader: (1)

davidw's System Info

I used McAfee for a while, then found out how inadequate it was, so I switched to Norton. Norton gave me trouble until I figured it out. Been using it for past 3 years now.
__________________
“We’re seeing the reality of a lot of the North Pole starting to evaporate, and we could get to a tipping point. Because if it evaporates to a certain point - they have lanes now where ships can go that couldn’t ever sail through before. And if it gets to a point where it evaporates too much, there’s a lot of tundra that’s being held down by that ice cap..”
~ Congressman Henry Waxman
davidw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 7:07 PM   #11
davidw
Xtreme-ly tired
 
davidw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 9,060
iTrader: (1)

davidw's System Info

In fact, its running right now!
__________________
“We’re seeing the reality of a lot of the North Pole starting to evaporate, and we could get to a tipping point. Because if it evaporates to a certain point - they have lanes now where ships can go that couldn’t ever sail through before. And if it gets to a point where it evaporates too much, there’s a lot of tundra that’s being held down by that ice cap..”
~ Congressman Henry Waxman
davidw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 7:26 PM   #12
GohanSSJ
OMG..Time to get a life Member
 
GohanSSJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,321
iTrader: (0)

GohanSSJ's System Info

I used to use Norton, but after it was expired it was truely annoying me and actually making my computer crash, after doing some searching on the internet it wasn't actually uncommon that it was crashing peoples computers after it was expired.

Now i'm just using AVG.
GohanSSJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 8:10 PM   #13
Roadkill
Registered User
 
Roadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Information Superhighway
Posts: 2,849
iTrader: (2)
Norton on both machines, works for me!
__________________
The two most influential people in my life,
Ayn Rand, because she made me think, and
Curly Howard, because he made me laugh.
Roadkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:10 AM   #14
mholtum
Moderator
 
mholtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Southwest
Posts: 2,972
iTrader: (7)

mholtum's System Info

Norton AV 2003 Pro
__________________
If you build a man a fire, he'll be warm for a night. If you set a man on fire he will be warm for the rest of his life.
mholtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 2:37 AM   #15
Stan
Member
 
Stan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 429
iTrader: (0)
I've been using McAfee since v4.
Running 7.1 Ent on both Win Srv (2000 and 2003)
Stan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 5:55 AM   #16
BBA
Platinum Member
 
BBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 2,930
iTrader: (0)
Norton 8.1
BBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 1:22 PM   #17
jmcmtank
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)
Norton 2003 AND AVG; work fine together.
jmcmtank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 3:55 PM   #18
tmx468
Platinum Member
 
tmx468's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 2,444
iTrader: (0)
I've been Norton on any machine I build since 2000... and still running 2003 everywhere.
tmx468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 5:47 PM   #19
Shyguy
Registered User
 
Shyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 7,526
iTrader: (1)

Shyguy's System Info

NAV 2003 & 2004
__________________
"Mr. Madison, what you've just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul."
Shyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 6:16 PM   #20
Spyder
Member
 
Spyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 477
iTrader: (0)
Same as Shyguy!
Spyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2004, 11:25 AM   #21
Backspace
Member
 
Backspace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twickenham W London.
Posts: 259
iTrader: (0)
I use AVG Free, Does it expire after a year?
Backspace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 12:32 PM   #22
darkomni
Member
 
darkomni's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Gatos, CA
Posts: 390
iTrader: (0)
from my experience, NORTON SUCKS. you guys may think different, but before i came here, i played around with viruses and trojans from a mainstream website seeing how they would be detected. i tested them with my norton, but no viruses found. then i let my friend scan them with mcafee. they were all found. this was only a couple of days after most of their releases too. i kept testing norton ever few weeks, and finnally a couple of months later, it found them. thats when i switched to mcafee. Never had a problem since. I have Mcafee Viruscan Pro Edition, and Mcafee Personal Firewall Plus. They work great.

Also i know Mcafee Firewall isnt really a virus scanner, but today it says it has blocked 825 new events. That sort of consfuses me as i have no idea why so many people try to connect to my computer for no reason. they are trying to get into ports without authorization. wierd.

Last edited by darkomni; 07-10-2004 at 12:35 PM.
darkomni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 1:49 PM   #23
ThRoNkA
Registered User
 
ThRoNkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 7,149
iTrader: (0)

ThRoNkA's System Info

most likely port scans.
__________________
iPhone 4 CDMA Verizon
16GB Version
iOS 5.0.1 Jailbroken
RedSn0w 0.9b6b

Motto: Why stick to default when it is yours?
ThRoNkA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2004, 5:58 PM   #24
Theophylact
Member
 
Theophylact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Inside the Beltway, outside the loop
Posts: 39
iTrader: (0)
Norton; I'm lazy, and I've had pretty good results over the years. But I do use House Call as well.
Theophylact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 3:38 AM   #25
OuTpaTienT
Member
 
OuTpaTienT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 242
iTrader: (0)
None! And proud of it.

Why wasn't this a choice in the poll? btw I just answered "online scanners" because that's closest to the truth. I use Trend Micro's online scanner maybe twice a year. And only do it for the heck of it, or if I'm suspicious of a possible infection.

Truth is I'm not very worried about viruses because all it really takes to avoid them is common sense. It's done me right for something like 12 or so years now. Never been infected.

Whenever I download files that I'm highly suspicious of (any executable file, especially from an "underground" or otherwise questionable website) then I'll just check them for viruses on a file by file basis. Often using an online service. One of my old stand-bys is this place
OuTpaTienT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 4:03 AM   #26
mholtum
Moderator
 
mholtum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Southwest
Posts: 2,972
iTrader: (7)

mholtum's System Info

Quote:
Originally posted by OuTpaTienT
None! And proud of it.

Why wasn't this a choice in the poll? btw I just answered "online scanners" because that's closest to the truth. I use Trend Micro's online scanner maybe twice a year. And only do it for the heck of it, or if I'm suspicious of a possible infection.

Truth is I'm not very worried about viruses because all it really takes to avoid them is common sense. It's done me right for something like 12 or so years now. Never been infected.

Whenever I download files that I'm highly suspicious of (any executable file, especially from an "underground" or otherwise questionable website) then I'll just check them for viruses on a file by file basis. Often using an online service. One of my old stand-bys is this place
"Live Dangerously, Die a Fool" You must not keep anything on your computer that you are too worried about loosing huh? I do, like you say you do, use common sense. But, I have been infected a couple times over the last year. That and the fact that I like to have infected emails stripped before they are downloaded to my computer...
__________________
If you build a man a fire, he'll be warm for a night. If you set a man on fire he will be warm for the rest of his life.
mholtum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 4:15 AM   #27
Centurion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada GMT -4
Posts: 1,226
iTrader: (0)
AVG Free - does not expire - used it for years!

cheers - C
__________________
From the cold north - Land of Northern Lights -VE9BGY
Centurion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 6:34 PM   #28
jshahani
Senior Member
 
jshahani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Fort Lee, NJ
Posts: 963
iTrader: (0)
AVG.....can't do without it. Works very well, no overhead and no worrying.

And its free.
jshahani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2004, 5:54 AM   #29
AndyL
Senior Member
 
AndyL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Coarsegold CA(near Fresno)
Posts: 587
iTrader: (0)
AVG it's awesome and my local sherriff dept uses the corp version for their brand new comp controlled jail.
AndyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-20013 by Xtreme PC Central.com All rights reserved.