PDA

View Full Version : Pension Benefit Information -- Are these guys for real???


Gouki
12-21-2004, 11:29 AM
First of all...Greetings from Colorado!! :D

My brother received a letter in the mail from Pension Benefit Information and they claim to be contacting him on behalf of a company that he hasn't worked for...for probably 15-20 years. They claim that they are trying to verify that this is his correct address and that the company in question needs to get in touch with him...supposedly there are benefit checks that he is entitled to???

Did a google on em and their website appears to be www.aboutmyletter.com. Anyone here ever get a letter from these guys? If so...are these guys legit? They've got my brothers current address (which they've only been at since August of this year) and they also have his SSN...which kind of worries me.

Anyways...any information on these guys would be really helpful. Thanks!

Mntsnow
12-21-2004, 11:39 AM
Domain Name: ABOUTMYLETTER.COM

Registrant

Mudge, Dan
(20292529I)
5001 California Ave
Suite 216
Bakersfield, CA 93309
US
Phone: 661-322-6400 x103
Fax: 661-322-6427

Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Mudge, Dan
(20292529I)
danm@smworldsolutions.com
5001 California Ave
Suite 216
Bakersfield, CA 93309
US
Phone: 661-322-6400 x103
Fax: 661-322-6427

Record expires on 06-Mar-2010
Record created on 06-Mar-2000
Database last updated on 08-Jul-2004

Mntsnow
12-21-2004, 11:40 AM
Domain Name.......... smworldsolutions.com
Creation Date........ 2001-02-07
Registration Date.... 2001-02-07
Expiry Date.......... 2005-02-07
Organisation Name.... Small World Solutions
Organisation Address. 19 Tara Hill Road
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Tiburon
Organisation Address. 94920
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... Dan Mudge
Admin Address........ 19 Tara Hill Road
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Tiburon
Admin Address........ 94920
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... dmudge@pbinfo.com
Admin Phone.......... (415)4359611
Admin Fax............

Mntsnow
12-21-2004, 11:42 AM
Domain Name: PBINFO.COM

Registrant

Mudge, Dan
(20292529I)
5001 California Ave
Suite 216
Bakersfield, CA 93309
US
Phone: 661-322-6400 x103
Fax: 661-322-6427

Administrative Contact , Technical Contact :
Mudge, Dan
(20292529I)
danm@smworldsolutions.com
5001 California Ave
Suite 216
Bakersfield, CA 93309
US
Phone: 661-322-6400 x103
Fax: 661-322-6427

Record expires on 02-Oct-2013
Record created on 03-Oct-1995
Database last updated on 01-Jul-2004

Mntsnow
12-21-2004, 11:47 AM
Pbi Communications Services
1110 Mar West St
TIBURON, CA 94920
415-435-9611



Pension Benefit Information
1110 Mar West St
TIBURON, CA 94920
415-435-9611

Mntsnow
12-21-2004, 12:15 PM
Looks like PBI is a legit company and member of the BBB

http://www.goldengatebbb.org/common.html?location=/home/common/www/bindr/report.php&bureau=oak&compid=11653

Gouki
12-21-2004, 1:52 PM
Wow! Thanks for all the info MntSnow! :D

knothead
12-21-2004, 7:54 PM
I have a question, Gouki... Does this person (who has contacted you) get a percentage of the benefit check(s)?

If so, get back to me. :)

Roadkill
12-21-2004, 8:24 PM
Have him call the company he used to work for and ask them whats going on.

knothead
12-21-2004, 8:38 PM
Originally posted by Roadkill
Have him call the company he used to work for and ask them whats going on.
Dunno, Roadkill, the angle I'm working on may involve a 3rd party who MAY have bought this info in a certain type of scam. A scam that hurt somebody I know. :mad:

The fact that the guy (Mudge) had his SS# gave me a Heads Up. :suspicious:

It's just speculation until Gouki tells us what the deal is. It's possible that I may just be blowing smoke. 'S okay. :)

BTW, Mntsnow, you are SO HIRED!! :D

Siliconjunkie
12-21-2004, 9:01 PM
I would feel safe contacting the former employer unless it is like "Vinnies Loans 4 Less" or something.

Just ask them if they know anything about this. I wouldn't tip my hand too much, but would ask.

sao95
12-22-2004, 1:47 AM
Originally posted by knothead
the angle I'm working on may involve a 3rd party who MAY have bought this info in a certain type of scam. A scam that hurt somebody I know. :mad:



What was the scam? :confused:

I saw something awhile back about something similar to this on Dateline I think, where you really are entitled to some money, and the people who let you know get a percentage, unfortunately that's all I remember about it, except that it is possible to find out through other means, usually by going to a state webpage (for the state you live in) and every state has something about unclaiomed money, and it will tell you if your on there for free, back when they ran the piece they had a link to every state from their homepage, of course it might have been 20/20 and not dateline, my memory sucks :rolleyes:

(sidenote: I wasn't entitled to any money from any of the states I have lived in, but my uncle was on the list for a few hundred bucks and my sister for like $20)

vavega
12-22-2004, 3:42 AM
sao, what you are talking about is similiar, it's just that the info is out there for free, they want you to pay them to get it for you.

gouki,
here is the website for the pension benefit guraranty corporation (http://www.pbgc.gov/) which is a government agency set up to administer pensions for companies that have gone out of business. it's entirely possible that your brother worked for a company whose pension assests are now being administered by them. they too have a searchable database. have him contact them first to find out. but knot is right, something smells with this one since they have his SS#

thanks SJ that's what i get for trying to post before coffee and work :o

Siliconjunkie
12-22-2004, 7:54 AM
vavega, I think you got the wrong link in there.....